Themes. 

Standard

I like to live my life with themes. It kind of gives a certain flavor to my life. It sets the mood: mentally and spiritually. It gives like direction. Allows for creativity to transpire in ways to own this theme. Encouraging and pulling forward motivation for my life, themes are fun, at least for me. This year the theme, a theme my best friend and I came to, is do what you want 2017. A few years shy of 30 and it’s only the month of April, this year has been a little more than do what you want. The concept is the same but there’s been so much more to this year. I am going to be 28 in a few months and literally two weeks ago I legit became an adult. Within the last two weeks or so I have had the most awakening-coming-to-terms that I am an actual adult experience. I mean honestly, I am not the most responsible person. I can prioritize and take care of the essentials, maybe I can work a budget and make an outline for an itinerary, throw fabulous Pinterest party but that might be it? My goodness, I learned last week about the importance of rotating my tires. It sounds like that should be common sense, like a second nature in maintaining a car. I do the routine oil changes and if they recommend brakes or something, I’ll get it done. Last weekend I had to get a crash course in rotors, resurfacing them, calipers and brake pads. This weekend I did my taxes and guess what I did impeccably well? I forgot to do some very important shit.. I owe about a grand. So now a phone call needs to be made come Monday to get something sorted out. It’s just that it’s only April. In February I had my first anxiety attack, in another country, alone. March, I almost bled out from a damn low dose of birth control, after telling my gyno I didn’t want to be on birth control I just wanted to not be so damn fertile because I’m Latina and my man is Haitian. Together we can make an entire village. So yea, maybe the year’s theme is just a tad bit incomplete when appealing to my life. Yes, do what you want 2017 but for Xandria, do what you want but make sure it’s within reason. 

Artwork: http://society6.com/ElenaKotliarker/The-Passion-of-Flowering_Print

Leave a Reply

